So I woke up Friday morning really excited to start all my new brace-free exercises. In addition to the three exercises I had been doing, these were added:
This one feels so good (but it hurts). I just lie on the bed and let my legs dangle. The doctor said not to add weights to any of these yet because of my fractures.The worst part is I have to do at least two ten minute sessions three or four times a day. This one takes a lot of time!
This is easy and it doesn't feel like it does anything. I still do the same exercise with the large foam block four times a day for about ten minutes and I feel like that gives me a more intense stretch.
This is my favorite exercise to do because I really feel it working immediately. And my quads look and feel like shit and I hope this will strengthen them up again quickly.
This is the worst. First of all, I thought it was a joke considering on Thursday it took everything I had to just raise my leg like the picture shows. One time. But in addition to lifting it, I need to try to hold it out for five to ten minutes!! The first time I did it Friday, I was able to hold it for about thirty seconds while my quad shook like crazy. This morning I did 2 minutes in my first session and by my last session tonight I was able to do four minutes. It hurts but its great to feel and see progress!
After my first day (Friday) of these new exercises, I was exhausted and had the worst night's sleep ever (how many times have I had the worst night's sleep ever??? They just keep getting worse and worse!). I slept last night with the brace on but unlocked. I woke up and as soon as I saw my dad, I started crying. I just felt terrible, like nothing was ever going to get better and like I'd be forced to be a prisoner in my parents house forever!! I really miss my own place and freedom!!He gave me a great pep talk (he's the king of those and they always work!) and the day got better.
So now as I am strapped to the cpm machine for the last session of the day, I am feeling better mentally (except that it's Saturday night at 10pm and I am in bed with a cpm machine). I am really working on being more self- sufficient. For example, today is the first day I was able to 100% put myself on and take myself off the cpm machine and position myself and do all my other exercises (even put my foot on and off the big foam block which is really hard!). So I feel really good about that because I hate, hate, hate having to have people (namely my parents) do things for me. The doctor really wants me to keep weight off my leg, so I haven't been downstairs except for the time I went to my appointment Wednesday. It's nearly impossible to get down stairs without any weight bearing, plus as soon as I would get down there, I'd just have to turn around and come back up to do my exercises. I am not exaggerating when I say I get like a two hour break a day or else I fall too far behind!!
Physically, I expected my quads to be sore, but my glutes are too. Maybe I am doing something wrong or maybe I am just starting to use them again. Also, the most pain I have is on the front inside of my knee. I wonder if there are some fractures there? Its right next to the bottom front incisions. More on that tomorrow.I am going to try to sleep tonight without the brace on. I am a little worried I might tweak something but anything has to be better than the sleep I have been getting.
Some more random info: Today was a perfect pool day and I was really jealous of my pool friends. How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days has been on I think every day since my surgery. That and Sweet Home Alabama, both of which I have seen like a million times each. I know everything about the hurricane (and hope/ know all my friends will be safe) thanks to the Weather Channel and am so sad for my friend Mary who has been looking forward to her trip to the shore all summer long!!! I am hooked on the DIY channel and HGTV. I love that Ahmed guy who meets people at home improvement stores on Yard Crashers. That's my favorite. Also, Esther Price's (like Fannie May) new milk chocolate covered butter twist pretzels are the best thing ever.
Good night.